top of page

SAIA Approved Constitution

Reconstituted in 2015, the South African Institute of Architects is a voluntary association and is the natural successor to the Institute of South African Architects which was originally established in 1927 and renamed the South African Institute of Architects in 1996.

It incorporates the eleven existing regional institutes (Border-Kei [Eastern Cape], CIfA [Western Cape], Eastern Cape, Free State, GIfA [Gauteng], KZNIA (KwaZulu-Natal), Limpopo, Mpumalanga, Northern Cape, North West and PIA [Gauteng].)

The mission of the Institute is to act as the collective voice serving the interests of its members in pursuit of excellence and responsible design. It aims to uphold the dignity of the architectural profession and contribute meaningfully to the enhancement of society and the environment. The fundamental principles of equality and justice are implicit in the Constitution.

bottom of page